American Society For Nutrition

Abstract Development

Abstract Development

Excellence in Nutrition Research and Practice

Background

An abstract is a short, powerful summary of your research that serves as the first step in further dissemination of your work. It describes the objectives of the study, methods used, major results and interpretation and implications of the results. Abstracts often appear at the beginning of a full-length research paper or may be published as part of a professional meeting. Currently, the American Society for Nutrition has two major meetings where abstracts are presented: the ASN Scientific Sessions and EB and ASN's annual Advances and Controversies in Clinical Nutrition conference.

Resources

How to Submit an Abstract to ASN's Scientific Sessions at EB 2014

How to Submit an Abstract to ASN's Award Competitions at EB 2014

How to Write an Abstract (PDF)

Abstract Submission Instructions
for EB 2014

 Rules & Guidelines for Abstract Submission for EB 2014

Poster Presentation Guidelines for EB 2014

Submit your abstracts to EB 2014, here.
 

Getting it Right: Tips for Writing a Scientific Abstract (Webinar)

Join your ASN colleagues for a webinar that will review general guidelines for developing a high quality abstract and review common “do's” and “don'ts” of abstract preparation. The program will be led by two ASN volunteer leaders who have not only years of experience preparing abstracts but reviewing them as well. Learn from a reviewer's perspective the steps you can take to best showcase your work.

Webinar Leaders:

  • Shirley Gerrior, PhD, RD, School of Health Sciences, Walden University
  • Lars Bode, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Neonatology and the Division of Gastroenterology and Nutrition, Department of Pediatrics, University of California, San Diego


Date recorded: October 18, 2012 at 2 pm ET/1:00 pm CT/noon MT/11 am PT


Play recording of webinar.

PDF of Slides

ASN strives to be the authoritative, global leader in Nutrition through science. One way of achieving this is to create and disseminate educational resources such as this webinar.

Please take a minute to evaluate this resource and give feedback so that we may use it for future materials. To access the feedback survey, click here.