American Society For Nutrition

E.V. McCollum International Lectureship in Nutrition

E.V. McCollum International Lectureship in Nutrition

Excellence in Nutrition Research and Practice

The E. V. McCollum International Lectureship in Nutrition provides a means to encourage sound advancements in nutritional science and their application for improving the health and well-being of people worldwide. The lectureship also recognizes the life and contributions of E. V. McCollum, PhD (1879-1967). An outstanding nutritionist is invited to deliver two lectures on a topic consistent with the purpose of the lectureship in locations that will assure a large and broad audience. The lecturer serves a two-year term. Generally, one lecture is given in the first year at ASN's Scientific Sessions & Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology and one lecture is given in the second year at an international venue.

The recipient receives a one-time honorarium of $1,500 and travel reimbursement for one lecture (maximum reimbursement: $5,000). The lectureship is supported by the E. V. McCollum International Lectureship Endowment Fund. This Fund was endowed with initial leadership from Harry Day, PhD (1906-2007) and the AIN/E.V. McCollum Commemorative Committee.

We're now accepting nominations for the 2016-2017 lecturer. Submit nominations to Each nomination must include: a letter of support outlining the basis for the nomination and the significance of the candidate's work; and a brief curriculum vitae for the nominee, including a list of the nominee's publications in referred journals. A reprint (or series of reprints) reporting the research for which the candidate is nominated can be appended but is not required.

E.V. McCollum Lecturers:

2014-15 - Kathryn G. Dewey
2012-13 - Lindsay Allen
2010-11 - Andrew Prentice
2008-09 - Barry Popkin
2006-07 - Jean-Pierre Habicht
2004-05 - Mark L. Wahlqvist
2002-03 - Robert P. Heaney
2000-01 - Robert E. Black
1998-99 - Ricardo Uauy
1996-97 - Nevin Scrimshaw
1995-96 - Reynaldo Martorell
1995 - Adolfo Chavez
1994 - Peter Furst
1993 - Barbara Underwood
1992 - Joseph Hautvast
1991 - Pedro Rosso
1990 - Aree Valyasevi
1989 - Alfred Sommer
1988 - George H. Beaton
1987 - Elsie Widdowson
1986 - Clement A. Finch
1985 - Josip Matovinovic
1984 - Lucille Hurley
1983 - Jean Mayer